All times are UTC

It is currently Fri Sep 27, 2024 7:23 pm

Post subject: SBG Army Help - Is Arnor worth it?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:44 am 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

A friend and i have been playing SBG for around 5 years now, and through our years of playing have found out that he adores the witch king, and i equally love the rangers, we've played most scenarios imaginable ranging from Amon Hen with all 100 uruks, to the Battle of Osgiliath, siege of Minas Tirith, and Battle of Pelennor combined game.

However we've become so used to such battles it's just become tedious so we decided to construct entirely new armies and invent our own scenarios, which we prefer to be huge. My friend has opted for Angmar, making sense as he likes to 'swarm' and he loves witchy, however i'm stuck on whether to construct an army of Arnor.

my worries are:
1. Warriors of Arnor only come in packs of 3 and there is no plastic sprue for them, so it could get quite costly quickly.
2. It's armies are a little limited for troops mainly being rangers and WOA, all foot troops, and i was wondering whether there was any way round the lack of mobility?
3.sort of related to the above but is there a way of fielding cavalry?
4. During the Witchkings destruction of Arnor, elves from Rivendell and Eregion came and helped out the Dunedain, so would i be allowed to use Elves in any of these battles?
5. Arnor has numerous heroes i.e King Arvedui, Malbeth the Seer, Arathorn and Halbarad, but without the rules or play testing them i don't know how they perform, and i don't particularly want to buy them to later find out i don't like them.

i have a solid Gondorian army, and as such i have 28 rangers, so i have a backbone theoretically for an Arnor army, so i if anyone has an Arnor army it'd be great to hear feedback about it, also any tips about fighting an army of Angmar would be great

Thanks

Post subject: Re: SBG Army Help - Is Arnor worth it?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:05 pm 
Elven Elder