All times are UTC

It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2024 8:16 pm

Post subject: Shadow and Sorcery - Tournament Review
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:51 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

Hi all

I am relatively new around here, and, as you find out if you read on below, I am relatively new to the hobby, having picked up my first set in December. I was lucky enough to be a part of the Helms Deep scenario put on by Dr.Grant and friends at the Titans Wargames Club (please do see the Battle Report in this forum if you have the time to spare), which was so much fun that I signed up for the clubs tournament shortly afterwards. After seeing the fantastic tournament reviews by Dr.Grant and SouthernDunedain, I thought I would try it out for anyone interested (or bored, perversely).

This, then, is the story of my first foray into the tournament circuit (and in fact, most of the story of my foray into the hobby, although the rest of it is relatively bland, and I won’t trouble you with an account of me sloppily over-applying paint to beautiful finecast Citadel miniatures).

My army list was as below;

Warband 1
Faramir with Bow (Leader)
6 x Warriors of Minas Tirith with Shield
6 x Warriors of Minas Tirith with Spear and Shield

Captain of Minas Tirith with Shield
6 x Guard of the Fountain Court with Shield
4 x Warriors of Minas Tirith with Spear and Shield
2 x Warriors of Minas Tirith with Shield

My list selection essentially came down to two factors;
- What models do you have which are either painted or have a chance to be painted before the tournament?
- Do these models have special rules? If so, they are probably too complicated to use effectively. Go for something more a little less ambitious.

I couldn’t say for sure, but I would hazard a guess that this is not the typical decision process for competitive players, but I was happy enough as I like Faramir as a character and the reasonably high defence and model count would hopefully be more forgiving than the alternatives.